News Archives

National Merit Honors

September 12, 2018

Congratulations to the 24 seniors in the Class of 2019 who have been named National Merit Semifinalists:

Almira Arnold, Cassandra Berns, Gregory Bishop, Turner Carlson, Matthew Fan, Madison Fuller, Carly Galvin, Avi Goldberg, Elle Harris, Eli Hurwitz, Allison James, Irmak Karasinir, Jan Kasal, Alexander Keeley, Kathryn Kuhlman, Zachary Luhmann, Shaila Lundal, Abigail Meier, Nathaniel Peng, Chloe Sowers, Divya Srihari, Ethan Wang, Matthew Yee and Jason Zhou.
Their selection is based on the high scores they achieved on the preliminary PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test that they took last fall. This year’s juniors will take their qualifying test on October 10; sophomores will take a practice test the same day. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation identified approximately 16,000 top scorers from 1.6 million juniors at about 22,000 high schools who took the PSAT/NMSQT in the fall of 2017. The 24 Burroughs students who were selected as semifinalists will now continue in the National Merit Scholarship competition and advance to finalist standing by meeting a number of additional requirements.

In addition to the 24 semifinalists, the class claims 10 students who are commended in the program. Congratulations to seniors Olivia Arter, Beecher Baldwin, Margaux Ballet, Isaac Bledsoe, Alex Duncan, Will Forsen, Grant Kinch, Annika Mathew, Louis Rothweiler-Lightfoot and Lexi Young.