News Archives

National Merit Recognitions

September 13, 2016

H07A3584-681.jpgCongratulations to the 15 seniors in the Class of 2017 who have been named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists: (from left) Noah Sock, Jessica Goldberg, Sydney Lister, Sophia Marusic, Luke Lamb, Jake Kovalic, John Harry Wagner, George Rogers, Ian Bradley, Selena Lee, Matt Woodruff, Dhruv Shetty, Sophie Hurwitz, Kavitha Gnanarajah and Jon Ince. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation identified the 50,000 top scorers from the 1.6 million students who took the PSAT/NMSQT in the fall of 2015. From that group, 16,000 students were selected as semifinalists and as such may continue in the National Merit Scholarship competition and advance to finalist standing by meeting a number of additional requirements.

The other 34,000 high scorers have been named commended students. Congratulations also to the 17 commended students from Burroughs: Henry Arneson, Nate Clinton, Caroline Creighton, Ian Doty, Emma Dubinsky, Michelle Fan, Julia Hotaling, Katie Jackson, Hannah Lester, Noga Melnick, Carrie Phillips, Aidan Reid, Julia Riew, Reese Roberts, Julia Sciortino, Michael Zeigler and Jenny Zhou.